November 2, 2023 (announced at 11/2/2023 Presbytery Meeting via Zoom)

From: PMRV Personnel Committee

Pat Shipley has served capably as the PMRV Stated Clerk for six and a half years. She now wishes to utilize her time, talent and skills in other ways and has expressed a desire to end her call as of May 31, 2024.

During Pat’s time as Stated Clerk, the structure of the Presbytery has evolved as we transitioned from having a full-time paid Executive Presbyter to being led by a volunteer Administrative Team, Leadership Team and Moderator Team with a part-time paid Stated Clerk. Pat has been steadfast in her support of our work throughout the pandemic and helped us navigate new times.

As we move forward, we will continue to adapt and navigate new ways. The Leadership Team appointed a five-member Task Force consisting of three members of the Personnel Committee (Kathy Moore, Richard Meyer, and Sarah Dickinson) along with Leadership Team members, Nancy Ross-Hullinger, and Sally Carlson to begin the process.

The Task Force will:

  • review and revise job descriptions of the Stated Clerk as well as the duties outlined for the Admin Team, Moderator Team and Leadership Team throughout the end of 2023, and
  • develop the process for calling a new Stated Clerk, looking to open the search by the beginning of 2024.

It is hoped that a new Stated Clerk will be identified in time to be elected at the April, 2024 Presbytery Meeting. This will allow time for Pat to train and onboard the new Stated Clerk and wrap up some of her Synod responsibilities throughout the end of May.

We are at the beginning of these steps and there are several moving pieces. But we have good resources we can use. We are grateful for Pat’s dedicated service and that she is working with us for a healthy and smooth transition.

We wish Pat well, and we pray for God’s guidance as we move forward with energy, intelligence, imagination, and love.

Questions? Email one of the Task Force members by clicking on their name below…

Rev. Nancy Ross-Hullinger, Task Force Chair

Kathy Moore, Personnel Committee Chair

Rev. Sally Carlson

Rev. Sarah Dickinson

Rev. Richard Meyer